About Us

CSI was founded in March 1948 by the specification writers of government agencies who came together to improve the quality of construction specifications. The Institute’s efforts were essential in improving construction specification quality so that it could meet the demands of the post-war construction boom. Development of specifications best practices, promulgating standards/formats, professional education, and certification were cornerstones of the Institute.

The Institute grew quickly to include specification writers in the private sector, design professionals concerned about communicating their vision in construction documents, constructors interested in delivering high-quality facilities, and material suppliers with unique solutions to construction challenges. These construction professionals continue to work together today as CSI members to effectively communicate the designers’ vision, the material producers’ solutions, and the constructors’ techniques to create outstanding facilities that meet facility owners’ objectives.

For more information on the Institute, click here

The Cincinnati Chapter was chartered in September of 1957 by a group of 42 construction professionals and began as the "Ohio Valley Chapter."  Shortly thereafter the name was changed to the Cincinnati Chapter.  The chapter grew rapidly to a point in the mid 1990's where we enjoyed a membership of over 250 members.  The Cincinnati Chapter has prided itself in being one of the more active chapters in the Great Lakes Region.

The Cincinati Chapter Charter

Cincnnati Chapter Presidents

2017-2018          David Edwards, AHC, CSI, CDT

2015-2016          Philip Babinec, RA, CSI, CCS, CCCA

2013-2014          Allen Tomes, CSI

2011-2012          Beverly Jacquez, CSI, CCS

2009-2010          Robert Schrock, CSI, CCPR

2007-2008          Michael Paul Kohus, RA, CSI

2005-2006          Ronald Lehman, CSI, CDT

2003-2004          Bryant Ard, RA, CSI, CCS

2001-2002          Michael Hornback, CSI

1999-2000          Richard Hird, CSI, CCS

1996-1998          David Proudfit, FCSI, CCS, AIA

1995                   Louis Medcalf, FCSI, CCS

1993-1994          Martin “Jack” Schwein, CSI, CDT

1991-1992          Jason Popelka, RA, CSI, CCS

1989-1990          Boyd Graves, CSI, CDT

1987-1988          Howard Crowell, CSI

1985-1986          Robert Reuter, CSI

1983-1984          Charles Shrive, PE, CDT

1981-1982          Paul Finucan, CSI

1979-1980          Donald Engelhard, FCSI, CDT

1976-1978          Fred Herzig, CSI

1974-1975          Robert Getz, CSI

1972-1973          William Gady, CSI

1970-1971          James Gallagher, CSI

1968-1969          Robert Fox,CSI

1965-1967          George Hampton, CSI

1963-1964          Woodward Garber, FCSI

1961-1962          Arthur Miller, FCSI

1959-1960          Hubert Garriott, FCSI

1957-1958          Edgar Tyler, FSCI